Electric supply looped? EV research

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,
I’ve been researching EVs and came across the term looped electric supply. (I’m not an electrician)

I wanted to know if mine is and I don’t think it is but it looks like there used to be 2 cables at the bottom due to holes in shelf but now isn’t. However I don’t understand is what the black cable with the red and green at top top is - this goes into the ground in a separate place to the main supply.

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
I would guess it goes next door.
or maybe a garage

I would have used black tape. But the DNO do what they like

Looks like a feed to another dwelling, but the fuse is in your gaff, so not ideal.

Unless there is another meter in your property.

Where is the missing fuseholder? That's a hazard!

There's no garage/other meter on my property. Looked an odd setup to anything else I've seen pictures of.
The fuse holder - I don't know, we've never touched it. Apart from possibly when an electrician upgraded our fuse board when we moved in. :/

Sponsored Links
@AndyPRK its a bit hit and miss, some chargepoint suppliers won't install on one, some will apparently. I don't have an EV but hoping to go down that route when I change car/have driveway done!

AFEE8DDB-CB79-4BFE-94B4-4B2455599B93.jpeg

Use this map to find out who your electricity supplier is, and then ring their emergency telephone number to report a dangerous cutout with exposed live parts.

They will normally have an engineer on site within 3 hours. While he’s there, you could ask him where the other cable goes to. They will not charge you for this repair.

I wouldn’t class this as a looped supply as it’s on a different phase, but it’s still a bit of a poor setup, and currently is in an unsafe condition.

Thanks for the advice. I've called and someone is coming out today