Electrician, Career Chang Advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi people

Not sure if this is the correct place to answer but I'm thinking of changing my career.
I've done a few bits and pieces of simple household electrics and I quite like the idea of being self employed.

at the moment I work in the retail industry and ideally would like attend the appropriate courses, part time and preferably keep my existing job until I'm fully qualified /up and running.

I've searched around the net and found numerous different courses offering various different levels of NVQ's etc.
But I'm not sure which would be the best route to go down :?:

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks for your time

z

Sponsored Links
My advice is to start from the beginning. Check out your nearest college & see if they do the City & Guilds 2330.

This is normally 1 day a week for 3 years, or 2 nights a week for 3 years. Other options may be available. There are private companies offering "be a sparky in 10 weeks" courses, but I don't think many proffessionals here would recommend them. 3 years may seem like a long time but it does seem to go faster. Ideally, try and work with a qualified/competent sparky to get as much practical experience as poss. You might even have to do this for free! Say one day a week or so.

My advice is to start from the beginning. Check out your nearest college & see if they do the City & Guilds 2330.

This is normally 1 day a week for 3 years, or 2 nights a week for 3 years. Other options may be available. There are private companies offering "be a sparky in 10 weeks" courses, but I don't think many proffessionals here would recommend them. 3 years may seem like a long time but it does seem to go faster. Ideally, try and work with a qualified/competent sparky to get as much practical experience as poss. You might even have to do this for free! Say one day a week or so.

Thanks for the quick helpful reply.

So a C&G 2330 would be the one to go for?