Considering a career change....advice apreciated

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I have been recently thinking about a change of profession, as I have reached a bit of a dead end in my current job. My dad and brother are both self employed plumbers and I like the flexibly that this kind of work gives them. As I think 3 plumbers would be a bit of a crowd I am considering the world of electrics, certainly they often have lots of trouble sorting electricians to wire up heating installations/showers etc...so I know there is some work out there :LOL:

I have done a bit of DIY electrics at my home and have found it pretty interesting, although I realise this is different to doing it full time! I have a degree and work as an engineer currently - my dad thinks I must be mad to want to get my hands dirty day in - day out, so I thought I might ask for some different advice.

My main problem is that I currently have a (big) mortgage to pay and my current job pays pretty well. My work would be flexible to me dropping down to 3 or 4 days a week to train and I could get by on the reduced money, but obviously I would need hands on experience too. I have heard about fast-track type courses, but these do not appear to be everyones cup of tea. And ultimately at some point I would have to give up on the security of my current job and go full time in my new career.

Has anyone done anything similar? What type of courses are the best to consider? And the big one......how long might someone embarking on training expect it to take before they can / could go self employed and work on their own...?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated....

Sponsored Links
2330 takes 3 years on evenings (2 ervenings a week=6 hours) and two years on day realease ( one day a week)

That's where you should start

2330 takes 3 years on evenings (2 ervenings a week=6 hours) and two years on day realease ( one day a week)

That's where you should start