Thinking of a career change? Electrician...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I’ve been thinking for a while about changing my career, working for myself and ultimately being my own boss is a big appeal, but I’ve also always had a keen interest in electrics/electronics.

My occupation is currently civil engineering, I’ve done pretty well, I’m 25 and have a good management/supervisor position within a large contracting company earning reasonable money. But I feel it’s just not me, I’ve basically done myself out of the work I enjoyed, getting my hands dirty, all I do now is manage people.

My question is, what is the best way to become qualified, and more importantly gain the necessary experience to go self-employed?

My current thoughts are to go for a fast track course (I know what you’re thinking…) and tackle a few small jobs at weekends and holidays (simple work like spuring off sockets and wiring outside lights) until I’ve got enough experience to maybe bite the bullet and go full time?

I’m too old to become an apprentice, and need a steady income to pay the mortgage and look after my family so unfortunately that’s not an option!

Anyone done similar? Or got any advice?

Sponsored Links
Don't go fast track!
Do a part-time evening course, two evenings a week. This will allow you learn without effecting your day time job/income
It will take you a little longer, but will learn the fundamental principles a lot better. A fast track course will not allow you to take all the information in that you will need. You may pass the course/examinations but I doubt very much that you will really get to know much and be any good or confident, as it is simply too much to take in over such a short period of time.
If you could get a little work part-time on weekends with an electrician that will go a long way to helping you out with much needed hands one experience.
Were in Yorkshire are you based? If you don't mind me asking?