Eurosec LCD Keypad PR5648 showing squares

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I have a Eursosec LCD panel in a tenant's apartment that's showing only grey squares. It used to work fine and I have the arm code. The keypad is in good condition and is lighting up so there's power etc.

I'm handy with DIY and electrics a bit, but I am not an alarm engineer. Having a look inside the keypad there's no obvious wear or damage and the wires are all in their original places (nobody's ever touched it). Opening it up did not set off the tamper alarm.

Checking the control unit, all three fuses are OK. If I disconnect the mains fuse, the external alarm sounds. I powered down and removed the battery, but on bringing it back up it's the same. If I disconnect the 12v wire at the unit the keypad did shut down, so they seem to be 'talking'.

My thought is to exchange with an identical keypad, but I would really appreciate any input and advice as to if that might solve it, or something else is going on that I don't understand! Thank you.

Sponsored Links
If you have tried a total reboot then sounds like faulty keypad.
DIY Dabbled had a post earlier this month on how to replace keypad on eurosec.

A picture may help explain what you are seeing and a picture of the keypad wiring.

Things don't just go, usually theres a cause and effect.

Usually power will either be on or off so it wont tell you much unless its measured as being abnormal.

As pointed out sounds like the keypad may have developed a fault.
If no one has touched anything, then as to why it has become faulty may remain a mystery.

Hi and thank you for the replies.

If I cut the power and disconnect the battery, do I need to leave it for certain amount of time as I only left it for a minute or two?

Sponsored Links
Also, The first fuse on the PCB is super fine and much less than a hairsbreadth so I am 99% it’s in tact but it’s almost too fine to see it!