Ever done this?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Forgot about my MOT until this evening. :( Tax due tomorrow. Just beein phoning round garages. The one i normally take it to said "MOTs take 40 minutes now mate, drop it off in the morning and we'll ring you when its done." I need my car at 10am for an indefinite length of time, so this was not an option, they couldnt give me a time. If MOTs take 40 minutes, whats wrong with a booking system that takes this into account, and giving people exact times?

Phoned 2 more small independants, again, no times were given, one was booked up until NEXT WEEK!

Phoned the biggest car dealers in Doncaster, Ringways Ford, just round the corner here, and they gave me an appointment at 8:30am, saying it would take 1 and a half hours. :) Yay! I bet they charge me the earth for it though eh. Not really got an option.

I've been driving for 3 years and this is the second time this has happened to me lol. I really must organise better. :LOL:

And I bet there's a queue at the post office, being car tax day and all. :rolleyes:

Sponsored Links
At least you remembered, albeit only just.

I forgot to do my tax, and landed an £80 fine :cry:

Worst of all, my dad has a post office, so I've no excuse

MOT's are now fully computerised (with the usual government IT f*ckups), and no backup system....

I had a car booked in on a wednesday morning, and had a small failure (CV boot)..garage put it in for a re-test the same day, and I finally got it back the following tuesday - due to system 'down-time' and over booking...hence the MOT testing station not being able to quote times..

luckily I always get a courtesy car, but it was still a pain...

I like to arrange my MOTs to be out of synch with my Road Tax. If they are a few months apart it saves the problem you have encountered.

Sponsored Links