Fire risk on ring main?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have just had a new 10 way consumer unit with 2RCD's installed. The supply to the Kitchen uses 2 MCB's. The 40amp MCB is directly connected to the built in single oven using 4mm T&E, and a 32amp MCB supplies the kitchen ring main for the following appliances:

Kettle, Toaster, Microwave, Combi Boiler, Cooker Hood, Gas Cooker Ignition, Washine Machine, Tall Fridge and worktop sockets.

My electrician says that it is fine for all these appliances to run on the 32amp ring, but i'm a little bit concerned. Wouldn't this be a huge load for the 32amp MCB?

Thanks,

Sponsored Links
I am no expert but I would have thought even if everything is running at the same time it would not exceed 32 amps. If you had a dish washer and tumble dryer etc then I would not run them all at the same time. Stuff like the cooker ignition uses nothing.

Most old houses don't even have a separate ring for the kitchen. Edit I would have though 4mm for the cooker is too small though :( Edit just re-read that it seems the hob is gas so is probably ok but a spark will know for sure. What load does the oven consume?

I would be more concerned that you have 4.00m T&E on a 40A device, as the maximum current 4.00mm cable can carry is 37A, that is if clipped direct and no additional de-rating factors to consider. It would be better on a 32A device.
Will regards to the second circuit for the rest of the kitchen, if you overload it probably the worst thing that can happen is that the MCB trips!
Which can be inconvenient but the cooker circuit has not been designed right and could be a potential danger if a cooker/oven has installed demanding a load in excess of the current rating of the cable, but not large enough to operate the protective device.

Sponsored Links
4mm will be fine unless the oven is some wondrous beast. Many just need 2.5.