Fitting a blind to an aluminium window frame

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I've got 2 blinds which need to fix directly to (new) window frames (aluminium). There is no room to drill the bracket fitting into the wall or the ceiling (we have coving) so the only option is to drill into the frame.

I've been looking at various websites and would appreciate some tips on the best way to do this- e.g. using a metal drill bit or self fitting screws? And any other advice as I'm not a DIY expert!

Thanks

Sponsored Links
For this you need to use self tapping screws.....these are hard screws that cut into the aluminium itself.
The trick is to drill the hole to the same diameter as the shaft of the screw, not the external screw diameter.
Ensure you don't get close to the glass, which will extend into the aluminium frame somewhat.
John :)

Thanks John.
Are you suggesting that we first pre-drill the hole to a size marginally smaller than that of the self tapping screw shaft using a toughened drill bit?
Are self tapping screws the same as self fitting or self drilling screws?
And I assume plastic rawl plugs aren't needed as part of this option?

Thanks again, I don't know if you can tell but I'm a bit of a novice
:confused::confused::confused:

No worries mate, we all start somewhere!
The drill bits you need are HSS (high speed steel), sometimes called jobber drills. You don't want to use self drilling screws here, likewise , plastic plugs .....great for masonry, no place in metal!
An example.....if you use a screw with the outside diameter of say 4mm, then the drill size you need is around 3mm, maybe 3.5 if the frame material is thick - greater than 3mm, say.
So - the theory is, you drill a small hole in the aluminium frame and then you screw a self tapping screw in, which cuts it's own thread and hold your blind bracket firmly.
As ever, a bit of practice on some scrap alloy is a good move if you have such a thing.

Sponsored Links