Fitting my own boiler - how much can I DIY

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Before I start, I'm fully aware that a Gas Safe registered person is required for gas work and other related bits, but I still have a question I'm finding it hard to get an answer for.

I want a new boiler in a new position. I'm a competent plumber and can do all of the water work myself. Assuming I read all of the manuals and current building regs regarding mounting positions and plumbing, am I allowed to buy the boiler, mount the wall jig and plumb in the water before calling my local Gas Safe registered engineer to mount the boiler, to the jig, fit the flue, plumb the gas and commision the boiler?

From what I've read on the law I won't be touching anything that is not permitted, yet I can't get a definite answer from internet searches.

Thanks,
Max

Sponsored Links
If you just plumb in water connections only and leave the fitter to run the gas and fit the boiler/flue in theory that should be OK, BUT finding someone qualified who will get involved in that sort of job will be difficult, as an ex Corgi installer I would never have considered it, too many potential problems. If I do a job that's fine but having someone else even if they are competent doing bits of it would worry me.
Apart from any safety issues there may well be problems with the boiler later and disputes as to whether it's the boiler installation or the pipework that's the cause of the problem will cause all sorts of conflict.
Also and please don't take offence, there is the worry that in situations like this the customer may be a bit too "hands on" and "why are you doing that?" for comfort;)

Yeah, I thought that may be the case. If I were an engineer, I wouldn't trust the system I'm connecting to to an unknown DIY'er :)

I'm just thinking of ways to reduce the price, but you have confirmed my suspicions that it may be easier just to get someone to do it.

Thanks.