Flavel Welcome Fire repeatedly failing spillage tests, Help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, im new to the whole forum thing so excuse my ignorance.
I was recently asked by an existing customer to check a fire which had failed 3 spillage tests on a survey by cavity wall surveyors. (the fire is a Flavel Welcome GC no. 32.274.47).
I removed the fire and carried out flue flow tests with and without the closure plate fitted (all ok), checked the sizes of the relief openings with the MI (again all ok), stripped the fire down for a good clean and re-fitted the closure plate and fire. After running the fire on full for 5 minutes I tried smoke matches at both of the spillage test points specified in the MI which both failed, then waited a further 5 minutes, re-tested and it failed again.
Now the customer has recently had double glazing put in the room (door and window) which has vastly reduced the draught and I had thought that a re-test with the door/window open would pass, and that a vent would be required, However after opening first the window and testing, then the door, and then both it still failed!
I have since phoned the Flavel technical line and was fobbed off by someone who really couldnt be bothered to talk.
Any help/ideas/suggestions would be greatly appreciated (Also need to satisfy my curiosity) and don't worry, its been capped off and made safe until i can make head or tail of why it keeps failing.
Thanks, Alex.

Sponsored Links
Hi sorry forgot to mention :oops: its a precast block flue until it gets into the loft then its selkirk and into a ridge terminal, Cheers, Alex

If you are not sure what you are doing then you should call in a registered
gassafe installer for advice. Messing about with peoples gas supplies when not classed as compatent can be very dangerous to the customer as well as yourself.
You clearly seem to be unsure of the proper procedures so leave it to trained operatives. Your ignorance is excused on this occasion.