1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Flouresent tube not lighting up

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by bikeit, 30 Mar 2020.

  1. bikeit

    bikeit

    Joined:
    7 Apr 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Down
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i had one small flouresent light in our attic which didnt give much light so i removed a larger one from the shed and installed it in the attic but it wont light up now, it was working ok before i removed it from the shed, there is power going to it so do i need a new starter of tube?
     
  2. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    4,700
    Thanks Received:
    429
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I expect you have done something wrong.

    a picture of the wiring may help
     
  3. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    15,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,357
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fluorescent lights were very dependent on voltage, new ones are OK with electronic ballast, but the old lights were designed for 240 volt and if the voltage has dropped to 230 volt which is happening because of solar panels then the old lamps are right on the edge of getting enough volts to run.

    However more likely simply the pins at one end not making good contact, or as @AndyPRK says you have got some thing wrong.
     
  4. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7,471
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is the tube in correct, its quite common for people with newer fittings, to wrongly remove the Tube by pulling out the endcaps, rather than rotating the lamp
     
  5. Sponsored Links
  6. delmel

    delmel

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2004
    Messages:
    661
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would expect this to be spot on, either that or the cable hasn't been connected correctly.
     
Loading...

Share This Page