Flue sited through lintel...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
had a recent new installation of a boiler by a registered person. Had a couple of leaks after they had left. They returned to fix the following day but again the leaks persisted so I called a plumber. He came, really fixed the leaks so thought all was good until he pointed out the flue has been sited by driving it through the lintel above the window. Is this ok??? If not what do I do next? He also said he doubts the positioning is far enough from the window. All advice greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Phone up Gas safe and get a free inspection...you'll probably have top wait a while though.
Post a few pics..

Thanks for your advice. I shall look them up. Ive put a picture up of the flue siting.

Attachments

• 990DD7C7-94DB-4A19-9D25-E7E0327F632E.jpeg
    990DD7C7-94DB-4A19-9D25-E7E0327F632E.jpeg
    257.7 KB · Views: 194
Sponsored Links
Not great pics but I’m not good with technology

Attachments

• B7947E49-865F-48D4-A212-0A65640EA3A0.jpeg
    B7947E49-865F-48D4-A212-0A65640EA3A0.jpeg
    223.6 KB · Views: 164
  • 00AF0370-84A9-42BD-A6FB-08561E3E6109.jpeg
    00AF0370-84A9-42BD-A6FB-08561E3E6109.jpeg
    90.1 KB · Views: 178
What make/model boiler is it please? That flue may be incorrect in other ways too... As GasGuru says, call Gas Safe for a free inspection. I suspect they will say the flue is both too close to the gutter and too close to your window, as well as affecting the structural integrity of your house by cutting through a lintel. Depending on the make/model, they may also pull your installer up on having the white part of the flue showing externally. They can force your installer to correct any issues found at their cost, on pain of having their license revoked if they fail to do so. This does of course assume that your installer was Gas Safe Registered!

Last edited:
Lolalola Your lintel query would be better answered in the 'building forum' some experts there :cautious: