1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Freeview system

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by calumr135, 18 Jul 2019.

  1. ...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 8 Aug 2019
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. ...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 8 Aug 2019
  3. ...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 8 Aug 2019
  4. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,256
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good pictures. Thanks for those. (y)

    If possible, plug the meter directly in to the aerial. If not, then disconnect the lead going to the splitter IN socket. Use that to connect to the meter.

    With the meter on and the display visible, rotate the aerial in the opposite direction to the way you think you knocked it. You may need to loosen the bracket screws to do this. When the meter reaches the highest reading then that's when the aerial is aligned the best it can be. Remake the connections and then test the signal on the TVs.

    I have to say, given the readings from the TVs, I'm a bit surprised you lose signal in the rain. I know that TVs tend to over-estimate on their readings, but you must be dropping quite a bit of signal when the roof gets wet. Anyway, try the realignment and see how you get on.

    If this or any other reply was helpful to you, then please do the decent thing and click the T-H-A-N-K-S button. It appears when you hover the mouse pointer near the Quote Multi-quote buttons. This is the proper way to show your thanks for the time and help someone gave you.
     
  5. Hi lucid, i disconnected the aerial lead and put it on the meter last night and got the 69db but it was flashing then fading, i realigned the aerial roughly back to where it was and straightened all the elements and now the 69db stays on, i now get 57db at all the tv points, so i will see if that has done the trick. Could the virgin media joint be interfering the freeview system as its in very close proximity to the splitter? I noticed there is a cap on one of the unused ports on the splittee and the ports where those 2 cables were connected before have been left open? What do you think of the installation setup, has it been done correctly? I presume because i knocked the aerial a bit i had have disrupted the signal but now i'm not so sure, Could it be down to that virgin media installer laziness? It was not done that long ago.
    Finally on that tv, did those signals look okay? What does the guard interval and code rates mean?
    Thanks
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 19 Jul 2019
  6. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,256
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The guard interval and code rate info is to do with how the data is packaged for transmission. It's stuff you or I can't change.

    The UK has had digital TV for quite a long time, so we have seen some evolutionary steps as the system has developed from its earliest form to what we have now. The biggest changes noticed by the general public are the increase in the number of channels on Freeview and the inclusion of some HD channels. To make these things happen, new and more efficient compression algorithms have been used, but the core channel package of our system still has to be backwards compatible with older Freeview-capable receivers.


    The Virgin installer was lazy if he(?) used your existing aerial cable system to get the Virgin feed to a second location. It makes a bit of a mockery of the fuss they make about using triple-shielded coax cables. It is possible that VM is interfering with your Freeview and raising the lower limit of what's an acceptable signal for your TVs; it wouldn't be the joint though but the long lengths of cable running parallel to each other that allow VMs signal to reduce the Freeview signal-to-noise ratio. However, you didn't have a problem before the aerial was knocked.




    If this or any other reply was helpful to you, then please do the decent thing and click the T-H-A-N-K-S button. It appears when you hover the mouse pointer near the Quote Multi-quote buttons. This is the proper way to show your thanks for the time and help someone gave you.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    4,776
    Thanks Received:
    325
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wonder if the bodged Virgin feed is 'raw' VM signals or an analogue feed from the RF out of the Virgin box.
     
  8. ...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 8 Aug 2019
  9. Out of curiousity what is this squint white box in the lounge? Is it some kind of amplifier booster? All i know is when its unplugged all the tvs with virgin media lose signal.
    Thanks
     
  10. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    4,776
    Thanks Received:
    325
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It looks like a safety isolator/splitter.
     
  11. Its worth adding that the downlead in the cupboard was cut, there was no splitter in there before, is it safe to say the installation has been bodged?
     
  12. I guess so, For such a "sensitive network" there sure is a lot of crap workmanship from virgin installers, it does make a mockery of the fuss they make.
     
Loading...

Share This Page