Fused spur question

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Swiss Chris, 29 Nov 2021.

  1. Swiss Chris

    Swiss Chris

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Currently I have a spur from the ring main that has a double socket on it. Potentially looking to add a fused spur before the current socket so that I can add a second socket. Does the second socket have to be wired from the first socket or can it also be wired from the fused spur. I am aware that the total load cannot exceed 13 amps. Hopefully the diagram shows what I am proposing.
    Thanks 15058EDC-87AD-47F4-AA1E-517EFCF8F9C0.jpeg
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,903
    Thanks Received:
    1,777
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's OK.
     
  4. Swiss Chris

    Swiss Chris

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks!
     
  5. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,317
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could also wire the new socket as a second spur from the socket on the ring. No need for the FCU then.
     
    Last edited: 29 Nov 2021
  6. Swiss Chris

    Swiss Chris

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought you could only have one spur per socket?
     
  7. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,317
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You thought wrong.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. Swiss Chris

    Swiss Chris

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, thanks for correcting me. This will certainly make life easier!
     
  10. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,317
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’ll add that many sparks also believe what you did but when you challenge them admit there is no such reg. There have been long arguments on another forum (no names mentioned but they are part of a well known supplier) about this.
     
  11. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    26,033
    Thanks Received:
    2,595
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It can be difficult to get four 2.5mm² conductors into the terminals of a 13 Amp socket
     
  12. Swiss Chris

    Swiss Chris

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So back to the switched fuse spur then!
     
  13. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,790
    Thanks Received:
    4,252
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    A socket that will not take 4 x 2.5mm² is not really fit for purpose.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page