1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

G2-12 Alarm Bell Wiring

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by nay376, 28 Apr 2020.

  1. nay376

    nay376

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westmorland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I'm hoping someone can help me. I've recently installed a Honeywell G2-12 into my home.
    I've installed all the sensors and everything was working fine.

    Lastly I needed to wire the internal sounder (i've decided I don't require ta bell box at the moment). Whilst installing the internal sounder I seem to have created a fault: Bell Fuse, which I can't clear through panel reset.

    I checked all the fuses and they seem fine, and have removed the bell wiring.

    Can someone help me:

    1. Diagnose / clear the bell fuse alert
    2. Advise the correct installation of the internal sounder.

    Some pictures to help my description:



    Thank you
    Vin
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sircerebus666

    sircerebus666

    Joined:
    31 Oct 2019
    Messages:
    842
    Thanks Received:
    137
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    F3 is the bell fuse , have you tested it using a multi meter?

    A member called galaxyguy is the expert on these systems , I'm sure he will be along soon to help
     
  4. nay376

    nay376

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westmorland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I didn’t as I left my multimeter at home. I will check tomorrow. I hope galaxy guy gets in contact. Thanks for your reply. Vin
     
  5. GalaxyGuy

    GalaxyGuy

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Fife
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, it's likely you've blown the fuse.

    A plain 12v Sounders can be connected with the positive going to +12v supply terminal and the negative going to the bell output (symbol of a bell on the PCB). You will also need a wire link between the tamper return T and 0V.
     
  6. nay376

    nay376

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westmorland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi GalaxyGuy,

    Yes i’ve just checked the fuse using a multimeter as per sircerebus666 and it is blown.
    So I just need to connect +ve and -ve as you’ve described, will i also need to change any settings to be -ve/+ve trigger?

    Thanks
    Vin
     
  7. GalaxyGuy

    GalaxyGuy

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Fife
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, the settings will remain the same. In default settings, the trigger output will be pulled to ground and that activates the sounder.
     
  8. nay376

    nay376

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westmorland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Okay i’ll try that. My bell has an internal battery. Originally i connected H+ to 12v bell
    H- to 0V
    R- to bell
    Bridge T to 0V

    This blew the fuse, although not sure it blew the fuse because i did it in engineering mode with power still to the panel.

    Does what I originally did sound correct?

    Thanks
    Vin
     
  9. GalaxyGuy

    GalaxyGuy

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Fife
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, that wiring is correct. You may have shorted something and blown the fuse if connecting while the power was on.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. nay376

    nay376

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westmorland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi GalaxyGuy,

    Just wanted to let you know, I took your advice. Replacing the fuse and wiring as you instructed solved the issue.

    Thanks you
     
  12. nay376

    nay376

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westmorland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Is anyone able to offer advice on the flowing:

    I set the alarm using
    Code (Text):
     + A when leaving
    When entering I used [code] + Ent but the alarm doesn’t unset. Instead i get the message “Status Set”.

    What is the correct way to set/unset the system?
     
  13. GalaxyGuy

    GalaxyGuy

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Fife
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The defaults for this system are to unset using a prox tag. This is based on requirements for police response. If the system is not monitored and you want to unset from full set using the code, you need to change the DD243 restrict keypad option in menu 51.55.3 - Set to 0 (No)
     
  14. nay376

    nay376

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westmorland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi GalaxyGuy,
    I also have prox keys, but they didn’t seem to work to set/unset. I added the serial numbers manaully via Users menu option.

    Thanks
     
  15. scott1980

    scott1980

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    478
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The serial number is for the standlone MAX reader only, not the Keyprox keypads. You'll need to add the fobs by pressing 1 and A together briefly when in the "Card No" menu for the user. Erase the existing serial number first.
     
  16. nay376

    nay376

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westmorland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks GalaxyGuy your advice is spot on as always. I’m up and running with ProxKey tags
     
  17. nay376

    nay376

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westmorland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks GalaxyGuy your advice is spot on as always
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page