Garden lighting a mess!?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

Im not an electrician so apologies for not knowing the names of componants :LOL:

We've moved into this house and are trying to suss out the garden lighting.

We have 3 x lantern/lamps on the decking balustrade. Each one runs off its own cable and under the decking and has its own black transformer/plug.
We have 3 rows of led lights in our decking, each row has its own cable and fits into one of those black hexagonal power terminals which in turn has a black transformer/plug.
We have 2 weatherproof wall sockets.

It appears that none of these plugs are weatherproof so what the previous owner has done is plug them all into a 4 way extension cable and house that cable in a freestanding weatherproof box. This allows all the lighting to be plugged into 1 of the wall sockets.

The weatherproof box obviously isnt waterproof as it was full of water! All the plugs are wet and rusty and slimey.

Im trying to work out a solution for getting the garden lighting running safely. What i dont understand is why the lighting plugs arnt weatherproof, surely with outdoor lighting all the fixtures and fittings should be weatherproof?

Is it sensible to plug an indoor plug into an outdoor socket and just leave it there all the time to run the lighting off? Surely the wind and rain will get up and under the plug and its dangerous?

Can anyone advise on how I can make my lighting function safely?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
ps Is there a way i can safely check if the lighting actually works? The light plugs are wet so if i got them dried out (how?) could i plug them into my clean dry extension cable or will I electricute myself? :eek:

All the plugs are wet and rusty and slimey.
Don't even bother trying to do anything with those. They should be scrapped. Plugging them in will be dangerous, even if they are dried out.