Gas Law about Boilers

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dear Friends,

I am a Plumber. Would anyone know what piece of Law tells me I cannot work on a Boiler. Gorgi say that in order for you to work on Gas Appliances you need to be Gas Trained, which is right.

But what if I am changing a Diverter Valve, or a Motorised valve, or a Heat Exchanger, or a water section diapharm. these are not Gas Appliances.

Any ideas please.

Thank you.

Sponsored Links
after working on any gas appliance you have to carry out saftey checks,even if you are only replacing water parts

The appliance is the boiler, the heat exchanger is part of that boiler

If you are going to work on that appliance for monetary reward (i.e. business), you have to be CORGI registered and have the appropriate ACOPS

From Gas Safety Installation and Use Regulations

(9) Where a person performs work on a gas appliance he shall immediately thereafter examine -

(a) the effectiveness of any flue;

(b) the supply of combustion air;

(c) its operating pressure or heat input or, where necessary, both;

(d) its operation so as to ensure its safe functioning,

"gas appliance" means an appliance designed for use by a consumer of gas for heating, lighting, cooking or other purposes for which gas can be used but it does not include a portable or mobile appliance suppled with gas from a cylinder, or the cylinder, pipes and other fittings used for supplying gas to that appliance, save that, for the purposes of regulations 3, 35 and 36 of these Regulations, it does include a portable or mobile space heater supplied with gas from a cylinder, and the cylinder, pipes and other fittings used for supplying gas to that heater;

and

3. (1) No person shall carry out any work in relation to a gas fitting or gas storage vessel unless he is competent to do so.