Gas pipe sizing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am currently studying gas pipe sizing calculations and am somewhat stumped by the flow rate.

Since the flow rate is based on m3/per hour, how is this established ? Is it based on the max output of the appliance per hour ?
Lets say I have a 30kW boiler running at max, this would convert to 2.84m3 of gas used per hour - Is this the correct flow rate for the appliance ?

Also, what if the boiler was range rated - lets say a 30kW heat only boiler was reduced to 10kW, would the pipe sizing still need to be for 30kW ?

Sponsored Links
Better looking at it, than for it.

(I dunno but i would not want the boiler limited by gas flow).

Lets say I have a 30kW boiler running at max, this would convert to 2.84m3 of gas used per hour - Is this the correct flow rate for the appliance ?
I don't see why not. But when calculating pressure drop, also need to include gas used by other appliances off the same pipe, cooker, fire etc.
Also, what if the boiler was range rated - lets say a 30kW heat only boiler was reduced to 10kW, would the pipe sizing still need to be for 30kW ?
I doubt the regs would allow that. And why install a 30 kW boiler if you only need 10 kW? Unless you have a very large house, 30 kW is likely to be from a combi in HW mode.

Sponsored Links
I have one more question, is it acceptable to mix and match sizings ? Lets say I have a 12m run on a 22mm pipe that is powering 2 boilers - both boilers have a collective flow rate of 5.6m3.

22mm @ 12m has a max acceptable flow rate of 3.9m3. What if for the first 6m I ran a 28mm, and use 22mm for the rest - is this be acceptable ? 28mm @ 6m = 12m3 which is more than enough, and the 6m @ 22mm = 5.8m3 which is just about enough for the two boilers.

I have one more question, is it acceptable to mix and match sizings ? Lets say I have a 12m run on a 22mm pipe that is powering 2 boilers - both boilers have a collective flow rate of 5.6m3.