Glass in cabinet door

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am a newbie woodworker and I'm about to start construction, in MDF,on a cabinet for my kitchen. Nothing special, but I want the door to be part glazed. What is the correct way to cut the holes for the glass and what is the correct method for inserting the glass itself. How is the glass supposed to fit into the gaps securely?
Any help/guidance much appreciated.

Cheers
Kingsley

Sponsored Links
how bigs the aperture/s for the glass and what type of glass and thickness of mdf are you using?

Thermo

other points to consider are you going to mould the outside face edges

if you using 12mm mdf and your running a router round the apeture for a moulded effect you will probably finnish up with with a rebate in the back 1mm deeper than the thickness of the glass with a moulded strip holding the glass in place across the back of the door ;)

Thanks for your replies.
The mdf is 12mm. I wasn't planning on moulding the aperture but I can see that it would probably look at lot better if I did that. Where does the router come into it? I think I may have bitten off more than I can chew here. I probably need to read up on this somewhere.

Sponsored Links
I usually just lay them flat, run a bead of silicon into the rebate, lay the glass in and run a second bead of silicon to seal the cut edges.

Have you thought what type of hinges to use, standard kitchen type hinges need a 35mm hole about 13mm deep, which will come through your 12mm doors. 12mm will also be too thin for screwing into the edge and unless they are very small doors, too thin to screw into from the back. Go for 18mm MDF.

Jason

Actually, it's 15mm mdf. Is that ok? Also, is it easy to get a neat finish with the silicon?
Thanks
Kingsley

you can quite easily get a good finnish with practice better if you apply the mastic back from the edge
if your going to paint them do it before you mastic the glass in