Heating working but no hot water

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I changed a 3 way valve over for a mate (im a sparky not a plumber!). For some reason the valve moves to the correct position when the buttons are pressed (i.e. moves to 'h' when heating is pressed, etc) but for some reason the boiler and pump only kick in when heating is selected. apparently he's never been able to get a hot bath but could have hot water for the kitchen sink.

Any help here pls folks?

Sponsored Links
Is this a fully pumped system, or gravity?

Some programmers have a link that you have to move to match the system type otherwise DHW only heats when CH is on.

Sponsored Links
I had the same. On stripping head I found more switches than shown in diagram and one had gone faulty.

Temp cure there is a leaver for bleeding which can be latched in mid position this allowed central heating to continue working while I got replacement head. Domestic hot water overheats in Winter and radiators get warm in summer if left that way but good temp measure while you get new head. Whole valves are easy to pick up but heads often need ordering.

What make of valve are you using??

Personally the plumbers I use all use Honeywell (we all prefer them) and I also try and get them to convert it to a 'S' plan using 2 x 2 port valves. If you do this it gives you maximum flexibility as it does not need to priortise Hot water - you can have H/W, C/H or both at the same time!!

Also Honeywell valves have a manual override lever which will open the valve, but not operate the microswitch...

IMO Sunvic and Drayton valves are rubbish

Assuming you understand what each of the controls does in your system, and which wires are involved in the process, things should be quite simple, a typical 3 port valve needs the following things:

Earth
Neutral
Central Heating On Feed
Hot Water On Feed
Hot Water Off Feed
Boiler/Pump Live or,