help on using a multi tester

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have just bought myself a multi tester so that I can check my wiring and that everything is working fine and earthed etc. The problem is the tester is limited as regards information on its use.

I have little knowledge about DC and AV voltage but am willing to learn before I do anything (making sure I am 100 percent knowledgeable before I begin). Can anyone help on this issue? For example, where the coloured outer coating is not visible how do I check which is earth, live and natural with the use of a tester?

Dave

Sponsored Links
Just purchased it today. It is a Blackspur 3.5 digital multi tester. 5 functions, 19 rangers. Is this what you mean by what sort?

I have symbols on the tester such as V~ and VΩ (the symbol alongside the V may change when I post it, it looks like a Greek symbol, similar to a horse shoe) and V (hyphen with three dots underneath) and A (hyphen with three dots underneath) etc.

Sponsored Links
cptnicko said:
I have symbols on the tester such as V~ and VΩ (the symbol alongside the V may change when I post it, it looks like a Greek symbol, similar to a horse shoe) and V (hyphen with three dots underneath) and A (hyphen with three dots underneath) etc.

~ means AC
"hyphen with three dots underneath" means DC
"Greek symbol, similar to a horse shoe" means ohms -> resistance
V means voltage
A means amps/current

cptnicko said:
Just purchased it today. It is a Blackspur 3.5 digital multi tester. 5 functions, 19 rangers. Is this what you mean by what sort?

Yes. OK, that I call a multimeter. It's fine for some basic tests to see what is connected to what but cannot perform the full range of tests needed fto confirm the safety of an electrical installation. In particular it will not have an accurate low-ohms range, nor will it have insulation test capability.

Nevertheless, much better than nothing and useful for fault-finding, once you have learnt how to use it.