Hi, new to the forum, and need some help. (pics inside)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,
Complete novice to electrics, but am here to learn.

Bit of background : I have put a double switchable outside socket which i spured off the outside power supply to the garage.
This socket provides power to my deck lights, which i have to switch on by going outside flicking the switch to 'on'.

I decided to try to make the deck lights switch on from the inside, so i thought i would link the power suplly to a switch inside the house.

A pic: wire from power supply to inside the house. and back into the double socket
bump016.jpg

Back of the switch
bump017.jpg

Now the problem starts:
I was going to fit a standard 1-way switch, but accidentally picked up a intermediate switch.

Back of intermediate switch:
bump018.jpg

Here's the question how do i wire up the intermediate switch so that when i leave the double socket switched on, i can switch the lights on and off from the inside. I.e be able to provide and cut the power to the double socket.

Hope this makes sense!?
Diagramatic answers would be brilliant for me as im new to this.

Cheers
Ben

Sponsored Links
what would a internal chrome light switch amperage be? and does anyone know of any 20 amp chrome switches?
sorry if its a silly question?

ben lee said:
what would a internal chrome light switch amperage be?

10A and single pole (well technically an intermediate has two poles, but the way it is set up means you can't do anything with more than one in your situation)

BTW, some of the stuff in that pic looks a little rough....

Sponsored Links
Adam_151 said:
BTW, some of the stuff in that pic looks a little rough....

im only responsible for the double socket!!!! :oops:
Its a new build house and the place is still a building site so thats the reason for the dirt! Its only six months old!?

So.......can it be done then?