Hive to Main Eco Compact Combi Boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I am trying to replace my current Center Wireless Receiver and Thermostat with a Hive Mini Wireless Receiver and Thermostat. however I have come unstuck with the wiring... The Center receiver in question is connected to a Main Eco Compact Combi Boiler, with the current setup like this...
IMG_0405.jpg

N = Neutral
L(1) = Live
L(2) = Loop (start)

A = Loop (finish)
B = Earth

On the Hive I have;

N = Neutral
L = Live
1 = Switched Live (Start of what should be the loop)
2 =
3 = Switched Live (End of what should be the loop)
4 =

Earth to the tether...

1 and 3 don't exist currently

How do I make this work for Hive, as from what I have read so far, that loop between L(2) and A is no longer required(?) and I am supposed to run two new wires to points 1 and 3 on the Hive?

Has anyone seen this setup before and how do I make it work please? I'm not a novice to electrics, but this is a new one on me...

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Some one has been very naughty, that green/yellow wire is not earth, but supply to turn on boiler, as you have it seems worked out, you need new cables to comply with regulations, with Hive single channel you still need the loop, L to one, and the green/yellow would go to 3, with duel channel no loop and green/yellow will go to 4, but next EICR it will likely be condemned, so really needs a new four core cable or 3 core and earth cable.

Reactions: CBW
and you dont require one
Since 1966 a circuit protective conductor shall be run to and terminated at each point in wiring and at each accessory except a lampholder having no exposed-conductive-parts and suspended from such a point. So it is required by the regulations unless it is portable equipment when class II is permitted.

Also the bi-colour combination green-and-yellow shall be used exclusively for identification of a protective conductor and this combination shall not be used for any, other purpose.