Hmm, self-build self-wiring consideration

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have never done anything to do with electrics before, and had not previously considered doing any of the wiring myself, but speaking to someone recently it seems they think I could do most of the first fix wiring on our new timber frame house myself, with some advice.

Earlier in the build, I hadnt considered doing any of the block or bricklaying - but we made a perfectly decent job of that. Admittedly, brickwork is unlikely to catch fire or explode, but it's just an example of something I've done that I didnt previously think I could do :D

What would be your thoughts on this? Do some research and have a go? Or leave it to the pros?

Jeff :)

Sponsored Links
If you've never done it before, I wouldn't suggest doing the first fix yourself would be a good idea (you need to know how to select cable sizes, protective devices and lots and lots of other things).

If you're looking to save money, I would suggest find an electrician you get on with, and see if you can do some of the donkey work for him, such as laying and clipping cables etc (normally i'd say chasing out walls, but I guess a timber frame house won't need that as such!) - this way he can provide you with the right type of cable to use, and instruct you where to route it (so he will still be happy to sign off on the work) but you're doing the grunt work to save him the time and effort (and yourself £s!).

Leave it to the pros, you'll never get building regs signed off otherwise and you'll never learn enough to make a success of it from the Internet.!

As a middle way, find yourself a friendly registered electrician and work with him - he can do the design second fix and testing you can run the cables under his guidance.

What did you put in your plans submission to the building control dept.? WRT to how you plan to meet part P of the building regulations (or what did your artitect put?)