How do I gain the qualifications?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I would like to know how do I achieve a qualification in electrics so that I am a qualified electrician.
I would like to point out straight away that I'm not looking for a quick 3week course but want to do it properly.
However I am in full time employment and cant afford to take time off work to do it.

thanks in advance for your help.

Sponsored Links
check with you local college they will give you the best advice, most colleges will do a 2 or 3 year part time course with the option of 2 days a week or 2 evenings a week to gain the C&G 2330 level 1 - 3

Sponsored Links
After reading the other thread it seems that the C&G 2330 is the qualification to take.

How will this stand me when I come to the end of the course for getting a job, i.e. will other electricians take on people purely with this qualification or would I need to do something further?

As I side note, does anyone know of any colleges in the north east which provide this course, I've looked at my local colleges that I can think of but none provide the course

Thanks again

As you are going to be an electrician you'll need to start to think for yourself, a bit.

But I'll help you along the way.

Go to the City & Guilds website. The page for the 2330 qualification is here http://www.cityandguilds.org.uk/cps...C7/cgonline/hs.xsl/1775.html?search_term=2330

There's lots of lovely downloads about the quaklification.

Also on that page there is a box to help you find a training centre.
I guess you know your postcode? Type it in and there will appear a list of colleges etc that can get you in the sparky groove.

Pls forgive the sarcasm, Mr Darling hasn't helped.

New College Durham is that near you? If so try them out.
You'll need 2330 Level 2 and 3 you can do these without being the trade.
Then some employers may require 2381/2 and 2391/2

New College Durham is that near you? If so try them out.