How many coats to skim ceiling?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am new to plastering but have done a few walls which have turned out ok.

I am now ready to try my 1st ceiling an was looking for some tips...

The 1st thing I wanted to no was, the ceiling has been re-boarded and all the scres have been sunk. How many coats should I skim it with?

Also is there anything else I should no before I attempt the ceiling?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
lol soo the lid is over boaard
one coat it with a sponge float
but the norm is two coats same as walls

Ceilings are a different animal from walls...Make sure you tape all the wall/ceiling abutments.
Get someone to mix your gear for you if you can.
And set your trestles at the correct height, cover the floors well.
wear goggles or glasses.
good luck.

Sponsored Links
Ceilings are a different animal from walls...Make sure you tape all the wall/ceiling abutments.
Get someone to mix your gear for you if you can.
And set your trestles at the correct height, cover the floors well.
wear goggles or glasses.
good luck.
hah ha ha ha ha ha were googles
he mite be working off stilts nd spraying it on with a ritmo lol
is he using muilti or board finish or mp75 ???????
i say use 2 coats if its out your m2 then use the rolling set then youll be ok mixing on your own too

He's only just mastered walls plstering! i doubt he is using anything other than the most basic of gear.

Goggles??? yeah of course!!!...more on floor/ face than on ceiling eh . :eek:

After skimming everything upstairs in my house when I got to the bottom I found a really neat trick..... pay someone to do it. I could have made my life alot easier by having tressles or at least another hop up but i managed to do it all from one hop up and a matey mixing.