How much can I cut off door?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have identified a Ply Veneer external Fire door as sold by B&Q and made by Jeldwen as suitable in terms off look and price.

They don't answer the number 01142542336 which I was given for them.

The door is 1981 X 763 mm

The opening is 754 at the top and only 730 at the bottom with the 33 mm really needing to be taken off the opening edge only.

As an engineer, I find it very annoying that there are no construction details ever given on doors so I cannot form any opinion on the effect of taking that much off the door.

Can anyone give me any views on this?

Thanks

Tony

Sponsored Links
Not sure if this helps, it lists the trim allowance for each door and the jeld wen site gives an indication of the construction of the sides (you might get an idea just looking at the top of the door). I guess if you take too much off it could jeopardise the integrity for the fire door? I'm actually needing to do something similar (not fire doors though) so I'm keeping an eye on this.

Of the engineered doors I have seen advertised that actually give information, it is always a maximum of 10mm off either side for trimming, but I only ever looked at internal doors. It so happens I have a ply (internal) fire door lying useless in my house at the moment. Maybe I'll smash it open and see what's inside it...

I have identified a Ply Veneer external Fire door as sold by B&Q and made by Jeldwen as suitable in terms off look and price.

The opening is 754 at the top and only 730 at the bottom with the 33 mm really needing to be taken off the opening edge only.

As an engineer, I find it very annoying that there are no construction details ever given on doors so I cannot form any opinion on the effect of taking that much off the door.

Thanks

Tony
You really need to consider squaring up the lining or replacing, you never take timber off one edge of a door unless a few mm, to keep it balanced.

Sponsored Links