How To Be An Electrician

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can anyone point me in the right direction?
I have decided i want to become a mains electrician, and i was wondering which way i have to go about it. I am 26 with a family so i would need to do it all whilst still doing my present job- I am a time served auto electrician so you could say i have a bit of prior knowlege to electrics, and before i was an auto sparky i was at college for a year doing basic electical (nvq).
Any advice or help would be much appreciated.
Adam , Hull.

Sponsored Links
try contacting a company called technique training they offer an advanced crash course which is fairly expensive but it will get you the qualifications that you need check out the web site www.techniquetraining.co.uk

All you need is a terminal screwdriver and a pair of pliers and a coin (to use with pliers to undo larger screws that are too big for terminal driver) at least thats all the sparks I work with use. That's why I don't ask their advice and ask people on this forum. :D

WSDLTD said:
try contacting a company called technique training they offer an advanced crash course which is fairly expensive but it will get you the qualifications that you need check out the web site www.techniquetraining.co.uk

PLEASE NOTE:

The information supplied in based on information collated at the time of going to press 23/12/04.

This document is not intended to be definitive; it is however intended to be an unbiased guide aimed at demystifying a very cloudy issue.

That has got to be the worst training site I have ever seen. Above is a quote from their Part P training section.

Sponsored Links
seriously there are a few routes,

an apprentiship is one way but they can be quite hard to get