How to install ethernet network in a home?

Joined
28 Oct 2014
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
Bedfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm not an expert but willing to spend some time and money to cable up my five bedroom 12 year old house with Cat6. I have a two storey house with internal plasterboard walls, and also plasterboard against external walls. Loft space is accessible. I'm wondering what the best way is to cable up my home? It currently looks like this:

qVrI2ge.png


I am targeting something like this:

swwTgKh.png


My gut feel is to run cat6 from server room to loft space and then cable down from there. Not sure if cable should be tacked to the wall or behind the plasterboard. Any ideas on pros and cons here? What equipment would I need?

Thanks for any advice.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
14 Mar 2006
Messages
18,828
Reaction score
2,216
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
Cat 6 ? are you running an edit suite? cat 5 would be fine [or did the cat 6 fall of the back of a lorry ] ;)

You need to avoid crossing any power cable as it affects the Cat cable.

Personally I use power of ethernet plugs , no hassle.
 
Joined
12 Mar 2011
Messages
1,711
Reaction score
346
Location
Glasgow
Country
United Kingdom
Behind the plasterboard would be the more professional way. Tacked to the wall will end in divorce lol.

Layoutwise it seems ok, but not everything has to be cabled from the loft as your modem will have ports built in that can be patched, so some downstairs points could be ran to there if convenient.

Equipment you'll need is a krone tool, drill, good wire cutters and strippers, and cable rods. buy the ones from super rods the cheaper ones tend to frustratingly fail when you want it least.
 
Joined
28 Oct 2014
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
Bedfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Cat 6 ? are you running an edit suite? cat 5 would be fine [or did the cat 6 fall of the back of a lorry ] ;)

You need to avoid crossing any power cable as it affects the Cat cable.

Personally I use power of ethernet plugs , no hassle.

As you can see I'm currently using powerline ethernet home plugs. They're not up to the abuse my household throws at them. I'm going for cat6 because it's going to be a lot of effort, and the expense is in the effort, so just a bit of future proofing.
 
Joined
28 Oct 2014
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
Bedfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Behind the plasterboard would be the more professional way. Tacked to the wall will end in divorce lol.

Layoutwise it seems ok, but not everything has to be cabled from the loft as your modem will have ports built in that can be patched, so some downstairs points could be ran to there if convenient.

Equipment you'll need is a krone tool, drill, good wire cutters and strippers, and cable rods. buy the ones from super rods the cheaper ones tend to frustratingly fail when you want it least.

Never done this before, so what would I do with those tools? What's a krone tool? What's a cable rod and how do you use it?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
25 Jan 2010
Messages
4,149
Reaction score
357
Location
Cornwall
Country
United Kingdom
You'll really need to find someone who's done this before to help you, or you'll spend hours (or days) without getting anywhere.

Don't put the switch in the loft, find a cupboard for it. You'll need a small rack for the patch panel or it'll be a horrible, unreliable mess (and require more tools).

Do away with all the extra switches, if you're running one cable, run four. Or eight.
 
Joined
27 Apr 2008
Messages
8,714
Reaction score
715
Country
United Kingdom
Run more than 1 cable per room, 2 at least - 4 preferred.

In my lounge I have 2 pc's xbox, media box, sky\vm tv box so I have to use a switch as I only have 1 cable to the main switch setup.

in my last house I ran 2 cables to each room & used dual sockets, if it wasn't for my walls being 22" stone I'd do it all again.

If you put them in you do not have to use them but if you need them and they are not there then your stuck with the devils own homeplugs.
Once it's all working you can take a hammer to the homeplugs :)
 
Joined
25 Jan 2010
Messages
4,149
Reaction score
357
Location
Cornwall
Country
United Kingdom
Once it's all working you can take a hammer to the homeplugs :)

Or better, send them to an independent laboratory to be tested according to the regulations supposedly enforced in this country. And send the gigantic fail reports far and wide.
 
Sponsored Links
Top