hrm wallstar oil combi

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
can anyone help
our hrm oil combi today decided to lockout and wont reset

it has happened intermitantly ober last few years and have 2 seperate plumbers trying to fix it
they have replaced oil pump , cleaned baffles , set it up , changed oil tank , and the last plubmer has said it needs replacing as ' knackered ' we have psent over £2000 ove rlast 2 years getting no where really

now im not a plumber but reasonable diy and dont like being beaten

ive checked solenoid and replaced plunger ( with one from steam cleaner as being xmas day cant get one )
no differant and defintly pulling oil

in my opinio its not firing just starting to pump then shutting down

we have n heating or water and plumber wont come till 4th jan so am desperate

i dont think its photocell as not firing at all

is there a way of trying control box or igniter as this in my opinion is what it must be but im no expert

any help or advice appreciated

Sponsored Links
You can check for a spark if you disconnect the oil pump solenoid coil, and then trying for a start......obviously you have to be looking at the electrodes ( or use a mirror) for this one.
John :)

thankyou not sure where to look for electrodes but ill look in moring

i prsume if its not sparking its the coil or control box so i could meter the coil and see if continuity i suppose

If you want to pull the burner out of its boiler hole, you'll see the electrode tips level with or just behind the nozzle, both being shrouded by the blast tube. The gap between them is usually between 2 and 3 mm.
The spark is actually behind the nozzle because the draught from the fan blows the spark into the oil spray.
John :)

Sponsored Links
thanks for your advice ill look in moring and report on here what i see ( or dont )