Indication that alarm is set

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Situation often occurs: alarm set at night. Occupant gets up in morning, comes downstairs (no PIRs) and opens back door to let the cat out. - Alarm kicks off!

If I had a flashing LED on the door frame (which I've tried elsewhere without guaranteed success) if the sun's shining, the LED isn't noticed.

I'm thinking, as the (absent minded) (could be me, but isn't) person walks through the kitchen, a PIR (not linked to an alarm zone) triggers a strobe or a buzzer on top of the wall cupboard to warn not to open door before putting alarm off.

This needs to be on a short timer, so if there's a trip to the fridge in the night, it can just be ignored.

I'll run a switched 12v from the (Galaxy G2) panel to tell the PIR / timer when the system is set. Seems straightforward, but I'm sure someone else must have gone through this problem before.

Any suggestions to keep it simple?

Sponsored Links
I'm no alarm expert but have some knowledge from a Galaxy home install. How about...

Fit a PIR somewhere and set it to be an entry/exit zone when night set, this will start the countdown timer when activated, which you'll hear. Set it as an intruder zone when full set for extra security.

Change the kitchen door zone to entry/exit, which will do the same countdown (although it'll obviously do the countdown before sounding the alarm, ie while the burglar quickly nicks your ipad off the worktop).

Personally I'd go with a PIR and live with the inconvenience of having to disarm the system during the trip to the fridge.

Sponsored Links
Personally I'd go with a PIR and live with the inconvenience of having to disarm the system during the trip to the fridge.

The zoned PIR on 'Entry/Exit' isn't a possibility on this install unfortunately (one family member won't be able to operate the system, which is why it's 'perimeter' only)