Installing LED Striplight into existing modular switch panel

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I want to install a 10W LED strip light under a wall cabinet in my utility room, with a dedicated switch, and am looking for some advice on how to connect it to my existing electrics. I’m an engineer (structural) and competent DIYer, but I’m not an electrical engineer so despite having done a lot of research on this but can't find an exact example and I’m not 100% sure of the correct solution, and in some cases may even be using incorrect terminology.

The lamp is a Robus SPEAR 620mm LED Linear Cabinet Striplight 10W 1095-1159lm - Screwfix and the instructions say to connect the live and neutral wires directly to an existing light switch. I have an existing modular switch panel with ceiling light switch, and an extractor fan which seems to be spurred from it using a 13A fuse. Only the live is going through the fuse, the neutral for the fan is fed directly from the ceiling light. Ideally I’d like to update the modular switch panel with a new one like these (MK Grid Plus 10A 1-Way Grid Light Switch White with Colour-Matched Inserts - Screwfix) to include replacements for the existing switches/fuse and an additional switch for the LED strip light.

I have a couple of questions:

• Is the existing wiring setup ok? Only the live goes through the fuse, is this what’s referred to as single pole, and if so it is ok? I think extractor fans have double pole switches in bathrooms, but as this is only a utility room is it ok being SP?
  • Can I install a new module switch connected directly to ‘OUT1/2’ on the extractor fan switch, using the 13A fuse already installed? Or would I need to change the fuse to a lower amp, or wire it entirely differently?
  • I’d like to avoid a separate switched FCU if possible, but would the correct solution be to connect a 3amp switched FCU to the extractor fan ‘OUT1/2’?