Installing Mains Powered Fire Detectors

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My son's play group are moving to a new building (its not a 'new' building - only 'new' to them) and they've had the fire office round to check the building.

Among a couple of amendments they need to make before they can move in are the installation of mains powered, interlinked smoke/heat detectors.
As the play group is run on a very small budget, i'd like to offer to help them to install these but i'm not a qualified electrician.

I've installed the same things in my own house but I'm not sure if i can do it for them, or if it comes under Part P and therefore should be done by a qualified Spark or at least checked and signed off by one?

Would fitting these smoke alarms come under Part P?

Sponsored Links
Part P only applies to residential buildings. ;)

You have to be a competent person, and you should have public liability insurance should anything go wrong. You will struggle to find a spark to put his name to an installation done in a public place, that he hasnt done himself.

Part P only applies to residential buildings. ;)

Well its not a house - does this mean this work isn't notifiable? They aren't doing any other works which would involve the council - the other thing they need to do is buy some fire extinguishers.

I am a little concerned about the Public Liability issue - will be giving it some serious consideration before offering my services but just wanted to clear up the Part P/Building Regs/Local Authority Notification issue.

Well its not a house - does this mean this work isn't notifiable?
If it's not in a house, or sharing a supply with a house, it's not notifiable.

I am a little concerned about the Public Liability issue - will be giving it some serious consideration before offering my services
You should be and you should do.