1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Installing Nest Gen 3 to danfoss tp9000si help

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Daniel1994, 19 Apr 2017.

  1. Daniel1994

    Daniel1994

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,
    Im new guys so go easy. I need a little help installing the Nest gen 3.

    See attached some photos.

    I want to link the nest stat to the nest learning box via T1 and T2 but I'm not sure where to pick up from?
    Red and yellow are the stat wires link to 2 and 3 brown and brown with yellow tape on the junction box.

    Am I right in saying Nest live 2 and 5
    Heating call for heat, nest 3 danfoss 4
    Hot water call for heat , nest 6 danfoss 3.

    Just need a little bit of help will be very appreciated!

    Many thanks Daniel.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. hertsboilers

    hertsboilers

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2011
    Messages:
    2,722
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nest live 2 and 5
    Heating call, Nest 3 & Danfoss 4
    Hot water call, Nest 6 & Danfoss 3
    Hot water satisfied, Nest 4 & Danfoss 1.

    Capture.JPG
     
  4. Daniel1994

    Daniel1994

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you , but where abouts do I pick up for the thermostat? Many thanks
     
  5. hertsboilers

    hertsboilers

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2011
    Messages:
    2,722
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Existing: Danfoss 4 - the input of existing thermostat - the output of existing thermostat - white wire of the three port valve.

    New one: Hive 3 to the white wire of the three port valve.

    Old the input and output of existing thermostat at the junction to T1 and T2.
     
  6. Daniel1994

    Daniel1994

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So wire the red and yellow into t1 and t2?
     
  7. Daniel1994

    Daniel1994

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So hive 2 and 3 the browns which go to the red and yellow connect to the t1 t2. So take the white at hive 16 and wire it into hive 3 , is this correct?

    Thanks Daniel
     
  8. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,558
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    T1 and T2 provide a 12v supply from the Heatlink to power the Nest Thermostat. You should connect them exactly as shown in the diagram posted by hertsboilers.

    Heatlink terminal T1 to the Thermostat terminal T1
    Heatlink terminal T2 to the Thermostat terminal T2

    Under no circumstances connect them to anywhere else, especially the 230 V mains.

    If it is difficult to run a new cable to do this (you must not use cores in a cable already carrying mains voltages) then use the separate Nest Thermostat plug in power supply.
     
    Last edited: 20 Apr 2017
  9. Daniel1994

    Daniel1994

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So they way I'm saying would work
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Daniel1994

    Daniel1994

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello, would this be correct? Take the white wire from number 8 and putting it in number 3 ? Number 2 and 3 (brown) will then be taken out from there and wired directly to t1 t2. Can some please just clarify is this is correct?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. hertsboilers

    hertsboilers

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2011
    Messages:
    2,722
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The existing pair of wires from the junction box to the old room stat, will be used for T1 and T2, not to be connected to any 1 to 6 of the Nest.

    The write wire from the motorised valve should linked to new Nest 3.
     
  13. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,558
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have made a sketch to assist. Swapping your existing programmer for the Heatlink is quite straight forward, the hardest bit will be decommissioning your existing room thermostat, which you haven't posted any details of. If you do need further assistance with that, please post back a photo of your existing room thermostat, (or details of its make / model) and what wires are presently connected to what terminals.

    Wiring.jpg

    You will probably find that the existing thermostat wires go from the wiring centre (ie not the programmer) to the thermostat, so it may be easier to run a new cable between the Heatlink & Nest Thermostat, or use a separate power supply. In any event the original thermostat wiring will still need to be decommissioned.
     
    Last edited: 21 Apr 2017
  14. Daniel1994

    Daniel1994

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello, thank you this is the stat
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Daniel1994

    Daniel1994

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2 and 3 on the red connector block will be used directly for the nest stat and to the heatlink. Then just put a wire into 2 and 3 linking them together ?
     
  16. Daniel1994

    Daniel1994

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll obviously remove the browns but you mean like this?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,558
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The red and yellow wires from the stat are usually the live switching wires. Unfortunately, I don't recognise your thermostat to know for certain if terminal 4 is a neutral or not. Is there a wiring diagram on the thermostat somewhere that shows terminal 4 is the neutral? Or can you state the make / model so I can find the instructions for it?
     
Loading...

Share This Page