Insulating pitched roof into eaves

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I think I have the answer I need from this thread but as I'm a total noob I'm asking to be double-sure.

First picture shows pitched roof that we had mould on about 2/3 into right-hand external corner. Thats been sorted now so I want to tackle the reason it was explained to me - no insulation above the pitched roof.

Second picture shows what I discovered today having a rummage round the loft. The hatches show where insulation currently is and the pitched roof definitely has none.

My question is, would an insulation board be preferable to a roll here, or is stuffing roll down sufficient? The roof has no membrane so not sure whether the issue of leaving ventilation space is too much of a concern?

Any advice much appreciated
Cheers

Attachments

• pitch.jpg
    pitch.jpg
    22.4 KB · Views: 52
  • roof.jpg
    roof.jpg
    19.7 KB · Views: 50
Sponsored Links
I had exactly the same problem a couple of years ago in all of my upstairs rooms. I ended up buying some 50mm insulation board from inter line and cutting it to the correct size and sliding it down into void. I did make sure I left a gap between board and roof membrane for air flow. I've only had a very small bit of mould come back and it turns out I'd missed a small section above one of the rooms

I had exactly the same problem a couple of years ago in all of my upstairs rooms. I ended up buying some 50mm insulation board from inter line and cutting it to the correct size and sliding it down into void. I did make sure I left a gap between board and roof membrane for air flow. I've only had a very small bit of mould come back and it turns out I'd missed a small section above one of the rooms
One other question @Davidandkeiley . Did you use a regular hacksaw to cut the board or need anything more heavy duty?

Sponsored Links
I used a normal saw. It does get a bit messy so done it outside. It's very easy to cut

DIYnot Local