Intermittent Earth Trips

mav

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Apologies for asking, but I am a total novice when it comes to electrics. I've done a search but can't seem to find any post where people have had a similar problem.

Twice over the past couple of days, my consumer unit has tripped out on the earth switch. It will only reset after I turn off all the MCB's. Likewise, I have to turn all the MCB's off after pressing the test button before it will reset. Any suggestions please.

It may not be connected, but the problem only started the day after Transco replaced my gas meter.

Keith

Sponsored Links
Firstly, the fact that you can't reset the RCD without turning off the MCBs first is 100% normal and nothing is wrong.

Secondly, I'm afraid that intermittent problems like this are very hard to track down - can you identify anything that is happening when it trips?

As for the gas meter replacement, I can't see how this is related, unless you had no earth before, and you now have one via newly-fitted main bonding to the gas pipe....

Did transco tell you when they changed the gas meter? They seem to have replaced ours, I only discovered it when i went to take a meter reading. Didn't tell us. Good job we have an electronic boiler . . . .

crafty1289 said:
Did transco tell you when they changed the gas meter? They seem to have replaced ours, I only discovered it when i went to take a meter reading. Didn't tell us. Good job we have an electronic boiler . . . .

Yes they let us know a week or so in advance. Turned up at lunchtime though when we'd got the gas hob on! :rolleyes:

Keith

Sponsored Links
ban-all-sheds said:
Firstly, the fact that you can't reset the RCD without turning off the MCBs first is 100% normal and nothing is wrong.

Secondly, I'm afraid that intermittent problems like this are very hard to track down - can you identify anything that is happening when it trips?