1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Inverter for the blower on a HVAC/Hot Air system?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by eveares, 1 Jan 2017.

  1. eveares

    eveares

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    1,269
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Saw this in a utility/electrical cupboard of a large stately house that I was at earlier for New Years celebrations.

    Inverter for the blower on the hot air heating system that the property has perhaps? It was mounted high up in the corner, and the room it was in was also near a large air inlet.


    Regards: Elliott.
     
  2. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    14,363
    Thanks Received:
    1,275
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Missing its enclosure, I caused a problem at Uni, I was given a project, and it asked for any health and safety implications, I thought it was a prompt and the lecturer knew there were some and wanted me to identify them. I found the Alan Bradley PLC's we were using were designed to be mounted inside an enclosure, you could access live parts without a tool, and there were holes over 1 mm diameter on upper surface. I included the BS7671 reference and the manufactures data saying how the units should be used in an enclosure.

    However it seems the lecturer was unaware of this, and it raised questions as to the safety of the equipment being used. He wanted me to change my report which I refused to do, I said had I been unaware of the problem great, but once you know it's a problem you can't ignore it. There was not a problem with me working on the equipment since I was a competent person, but the set up could not be displayed on open days when the schools visited. A compromise was reached, some one had to be with the units while the schools visited to ensure the children did not play with the mains powered parts of the display.
     
  3. ColJack

    ColJack

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    11,793
    Thanks Received:
    409
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Safety's by means of placing out of reach.. ?
     
  4. DaveHerns

    DaveHerns

    Joined:
    11 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    2,583
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You go to a stately home for celebrations, take photos of the electrical installation and post them here at 03.16 ? Couldn't have been very good celebrations!
     
  5. eveares

    eveares

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    1,269
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Surprised no one else picked up on the colour of the wires, especially the mains feed going in at the top. Don't know for sure what it is used for, I am amusing it was part of the hot air central heating system.

    As for an enclosure, as the unit does not have an integral one, then obviously it needs a generic one.

    I only live a 5 minutes walk away, and had returned home by 1:00AM. Photo was taken around 11PM.

    Also in the room housing the inverter was two single phase DB's, a satellite multi switch, a Sky box hooked up to a "HDMI over CAT5e" box, Wireless Router, and lots of unused/unterminated alarm/CAT5e wires coming through wall.

    Here's the manual to the inverter: https://inverterdrive.com/file/Invertek-Drives-Optidrive-E2-Manual/
     
  6. AdrianUK

    AdrianUK

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ignoring, for the moment, the white/black core colours on the mains lead (ie. US colors).... Isn't anybody else surprised that the OUTPUT only seems to have 2 cores? ie. it doesn't seem to be creating a three-phase output??

    However, I do agree that this unit is not suitable for mounting in the way it has been. It should be inside a suitable enclosure.
     
  7. eveares

    eveares

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    1,269
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. AdrianUK

    AdrianUK

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, you learn something new everyday! I've used hundreds of the fractional HP single phase to three phase jobbies from ABB, IMO & SSD but never knew about the single phase to variable single phase drives! This new knowledge might make a few upcoming work projects a little easier :)
     
  9. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    41,952
    Thanks Received:
    2,636
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would that still be true if the cables had been terminated a bit more satisfactorily?

    Kind Regards, John
     
  10. AdrianUK

    AdrianUK

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, I think it would still be true. There is no provision for any kind of cord grip/restraint and the "live" terminals do not have any barrier - their only protection seems to be by the nature of their depth below surface of the plastic casing.

    This item is intended to be a component of some control system and is intended to live inside a cabinet. I don't think its anymore suitable for mounting on that wall than a contactor or MCB would be.
     
  11. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    41,952
    Thanks Received:
    2,636
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    True - but does it differ in that respect from, say, a standard domestic meter (or, indeed, Henley block or cutout)?
    Again true. Although we cannot see from the pic what goes on at the top (which could be a different matter), the front, sides and bottom are, strictly speaking, only required to be IP2X, which I would imagine that 'depth' probably achieves.
    I certainly agree that it is intended to be in a cabinet, but I wonder whether that is strictly necessary for regulatory compliance.

    Standard MCBs, and probably most contactors, are different, since I doubt that many would be IP2X anywhere, and certainly not IP4X at the top - at least, in the vast majority of cases.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page