Is This Bloke Completely Barking.............

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
..........or a genius? (My money's on barking. :LOL: )

Basically, he has fitted a 250W electric towel rail element into the bottom of his hw cylinder, in the same tapping as the cold water enters. He reckons that keeping this element on 24/7 will save money, because when the normal immersion element or the boiler comes on, it won't have to heat the water in the cylinder from cold. I think the bloke in the video is, or was, a plumber.

I'm no mathematical expert, but I'm thinking he's wasted his time and money. What do the experts and mathematical geniuses on here think?

Sponsored Links
water will take the same amount of energy to heat it from temp A to temp B in the same enviroment whatever he is using, so a complete waste of time from a money saving point of view

I want to know why people don't realise that our electricity is more expensive /kw than gas, also the gas is piped from under the earth direct more or less, but electricity has to be generated by burning coal, or fossil fuel etc, a small percentage come from wind or waves or hydro. so electricity comes at much more of a cost to the nation than gas does. A couple of 100watts is really going to make a difference, NOT.

Sponsored Links
Gas is about 4.5pence/kw hour
Electricity is about 8.5 pence / kw hour
24 pence/day electricity to save naff all on gas.

He seems to have misunderstood it, as others have said. 250W for 12 hours costs the same as 3kW for 1 hour. His arrangement is probably less efficient due to conduction losses through the cold feed pipe and standing losses.

He'd have done much better by putting the money into decent insulation for that cylinder or, if it's a pre-BS cylinder, getting a modern cylinder with a decent heat exchange coil.

It always amazes me how some people are prepared to make a complete fool of themselves when their basic understanding of physics and fuel costs is so poor.