1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Kitchen Wiring Diagram

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by TomBridges, 28 Sep 2010.

  1. TomBridges

    TomBridges

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello everybody

    We are planning on a new kitchen.. having drawn up an outline of what cupboards we are going to have, I have knocked together an outline of the electrics needed.


    Basically I have a couple of questions:

    1) Can all the appliances be put on the Ring Main? (As you can see from the diagram the Dishwasher, Washing Machine & Cooker Hood/Extractor Fan are protected by Fused Spurs.) I was wondering if I should have them on their own circuit? It seems like a lot of appliances/sockets for a 2.5mm 30amp circuit.

    2) Does the cabling need to be shielded? or is it fine just under plaster?

    Many Thanks in advance,
    Tom
     
  2. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    6,598
    Thanks Received:
    788
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Generally it is ok to have a modern kitchen on one dedicated ring circuit, though some on this forum will bang on about having two or three radial circuits for the sockets.

    It is good practice to use pvc capping or oval conduit to protect the cables during plastering. You don't have to have this protection, but it would be very sensible to do so. It's more professional. And makes future alterations easier. It won't cost much at all.

    No need for those junction boxes supplying the fused spurs. Just run the two supply cables to the fused spur.
     
  3. TomBridges

    TomBridges

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi sparkwright,

    Thanks for your quick response.. I'm not sure what I was thinking with the jucting boxes actually.. though would be fun plastering them into the wall!

    Tom
     
  4. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    6,598
    Thanks Received:
    788
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Deleted.
     
  5. londonboy

    londonboy

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    1,582
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You cant bury junction boxes
     
  6. TomBridges

    TomBridges

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    really?! god i'm learning new things everyday!

    you clearly missed my sarcasm in my last post.
     
  7. londonboy

    londonboy

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    1,582
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Clearly, why put them in your picture then.
     
  8. TomBridges

    TomBridges

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did say in my post, and i quote "I'm not sure what I was thinking"..
     
  9. Spark123

    Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,840
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The work you describe will be notifiable under Part P of the building regs so you may be better employing an installer who is a member of a competent person scheme to install it.
    http://www.competentperson.co.uk/search.asp
     
  10. OwainDIYer

    OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    4,363
    Thanks Received:
    657
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Washing machine only takes full current when heating the water, which isn't usually for very long. (Domestic) extractor fan is usually less than 100W.

    Tumble dryers are a long heavy load.

    You might want to put a separate circuit for the fridge/freezer on its own MCBO, so a fault anywhere else doesn't result in spoiled food.

    Unless protected by steel conduit or specific cable types, all wiring now has to have RCD protection.

    You might want under-cupboard lighting.
     
  11. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    68,054
    Thanks Received:
    2,814
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "bang on", or point out the generic drawbacks with ring finals and the specific ones in a kitchen of balancing the loads when used for appliances, both of which should make the designer think about whether, when he's starting with a blank sheet of paper, a ring is the best design?


    Proper plasterers will point out that the last thing they want to do is to damage the edges of their tools by hacking at cables with them.


    The way to prepare for that is conduit rather than hoping you'll be able to pull new or extra cables through capping.
     
  12. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    68,054
    Thanks Received:
    2,814
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tom - you really do need to use an electrician. Apart from the legalities there are the genuine safety aspects of testing which you won't be able to do yourself.


    You should consider having your old rewirable fuse box replaced at the same time, as the electrician is going to have to add RCD protection somehow anyway.
     
  13. TomBridges

    TomBridges

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    Thanks for your advice.

    I am actually getting an electrician to do this work, though I am running the cables for 1st Fix electrics to save a bit of money.

    So general consensus is a Ring Main is silly and I'd be better off with a 2.5mm Radial Circuit protected by a 30amp MCB?

    Cheers,
    Tom
     
  14. OwainDIYer

    OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    4,363
    Thanks Received:
    657
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need your electrician to specify the cable routes and cable types as he will be signing the work off.

    You cannot have a 2.5mm radial circuit protected at 32A.

    2.5mm is max 20A, and that doesn't give a lot of capacity for high current appliances. In fact in a kitchen I would suggest not having more than 1 double socket on a 2.5mm 20A radial, as you do not know how appliances will be distributed around the kitchen.

    A properly specified and installed 32A ring final circuit should be sufficient for a domestic kitchen with the fixed cooking load on separate circuits. For a larger kitchen putting the fixed laundry appliances on separate radial(s) might be appropriate.
     
  15. ccam108

    ccam108

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's a bit of a waste, using a 20A radial for a max load of 13A.

    Colin C
     
Loading...

Share This Page