Leaking handheld bidet ("Bum Gun")

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Newbie here.

I have one of those "bum gun" portable bidet things, which has worked fine for the last 18 months since it was installed. It consists of a tap on the wall, connected via a flexible shower hose to a handheld shower unit with a spray trigger. The other day it started leaking (fine in the morning, unusable by afternoon, with no use in between), with water running down the flexible hose.

At first I assumed the hose itself was faulty, but after unscrewing the trigger/shower section, the hose had no leaks at all. When the trigger is pressed, the leaks from the body of the unit stop (as the pressure is released, I guess?)

When I removed the shower section from the hose, a little perished orangey-brown mess fell out, which I can only assume is some kind of washer (or, Google tells me, possibly a "friction ring", whatever one of those is?).

The rubber washer in the hose seems fine, and the O-ring at the trigger end seems OK too (both have been replaced and made no difference). So I can only assume this orange brown thing is the culprit. However, I have no idea what I'm actually asking for in a shop, as I don't have the old one to compare. When I asked the guy who'd worked in the plumbing shop for 40 years, he had no idea what a friction ring was, so internet research not much use there! He suggested it might be a fibre washer, so I tried the only one of those I could find in the shops that actually fit (though I couldn't determine the thickness of the original, so that may be a factor?) I also tried some PTFE tape around the thread, but that also had no effect on the leakage.