LED Downlighter install

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I've just moved into a new build property which has a mix of existing LED downlighters and pendent fittings. I want to remove the pendents in the lounge, hallway & landing and replace with LED downlighters. I'm confident with the actual cabling work as i'm a security systems installer by trade. I plan to use the pendent feed to loop in & out of each downlight position.

Plan is:
Lounge - 4 or 6 lighters
Hallway - 2 lighters
Landing - 2 or 3 lighters

My questions are firstly whats the best way to measure out the position of each downlighter or is it simply a chalk line? Obviously a mesure up in loft too to avoid joists.

Whats the best type of light, mains driven units or seperate transformers and is any dimmer switch compatible? Any recommendations welcome.

Thank you.

Sponsored Links
I would avoid any transformers they were for quartz lamps so the filament could be thicker today not required.

With LED there is very little heat so no need to be let into the ceiling you can get surface mount lamps which in turn means you don't need fire hoods and the like.

Do be aware size matters, for a 50 mm round unit over 3W LED and it will not distribute the light unless shining onto a light surface. Move from 50 mm (2 inches) to 5 inches and the light is distributed far better so you can use a 10W unit at that size.

We call them down lighters but really we don't want the light to just go down we want it to spread, with the up lighter on the wall we use the ceiling to spread the light, but in the main our floors are too dark to spread light.

Also to squeeze the LED chips and driver into the old MR16 package means there is a tendency to use very poor drivers which waste power, so a typical MR16 lamp is around 70 lumen per watt, the larger lamps however tend to use better drivers and get the full 100 lumen per watt output.