1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Lightsys connections to Novagard 6

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by scorpiouk, 16 Oct 2016.

  1. scorpiouk

    scorpiouk

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    After some help with the connections from a lightsys to a Novaguad bell..

    I assume that the lightsys is not a NovActive compatible system?
    And that I will need to make the connections via standard wiring..

    I set the DIP switches to set the box up as a SCB.
    I made the connections as follows:

    [​IMG]

    Which gives the following, mapping the diagram (above) to the nova connections and lightsys:

    Diagram: Nova: Lightsys:
    Bell Trigger S- - U01 NO
    Strobe Trigger STR- - U02
    Neg Tem Return TMPR - Bell Tmp
    HO-/0v 0v - Common
    HO+/ 12v +12v - Bell+

    I connected wires from Com to U01C and U02, and added a resistor at the bell end on the bell TMP wire of the lightsys.

    On the nova I connected TMPF to the 0v line.

    Does this look correct?

    I note in the manual it says Set+ needs to be connected for the "Setting Confirmation Sound". We have 2 keyfobs for setting the alarm, do I also need to connect this Set+?

    I also have Elmdene INT500S, can this be connected at the same time?

    Or am I way off with this?

    Many thanks!
     
  2. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    3,190
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes to the bell wiring, as for the int500s aswell not sure you have the power for both unless you use low current or scb mode on the bell but you would need to check that.
     
  3. scorpiouk

    scorpiouk

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply..

    Do I not need to worry about the set+ for a confirmation of setting the alarm?

    The int500s manual says:
    "The INT500S is classified as an internal self powered sounder and has an on-board battery which is recharged via the external power source. This battery is used to operate the sounder if the external power to the sounder is removed." http://www.elmdene.co.uk/files/ins/int500s-00.pdf

    If I run both as SCB it should be ok? (could even charge them up one at a time to avoid an initial load)
     
  4. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    3,190
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would need to check the load of both systems in alarm, on low current or scb mode.

    the problem is in scb mode you would loose some noticeable volume, so you may want to look at where you take power from.
     
  5. scorpiouk

    scorpiouk

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if both have internal batteries could I run both as SAB? (or am i getting these confused?)

    The INT500S when sounding pulls 220mA
    The NovaGuard has a max of 464mA
    The sensors have Quiescent current consumption of 5x 11mA (55mA)
    Keypad 52mA

    So 791mA, call it 800mA

    The Lightsys can supply 1.5AmA Should I not be will with in range?

    Thanks for all your help with this..
     
  6. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    3,190
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe the bell power on lightsys is 500mA, 1,5 is the total the panel can draw.
     
  7. scorpiouk

    scorpiouk

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So best not to use the internal bell?

    Or Can Power be drawn from else where?

    The Dc feed next too the mains jack?
     
  8. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    3,190
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you need to work out where you can take power from based on your systems consumption.

    auxiliary power is 800mA, the bel is 500mA, so you if you have spare on the bell circuit use that, if you have spare on the auxiliary use that.

    Otherwise you are looking at additional power to be added.
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page