Lining paper advice for novice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a few questions about putting up lining paper for painting over. I am a complete novice, having never used lining paper or wallpaper before so any advice would be great but the main questions are:

Firstly - I have filled cracks/imperfections using Toupret filler and sanded these down ... there are some sections of wall with a lot of filled areas. Should I size these areas using watered down paste or is there something else I should use over the filler?

Secondly - there seems to be a lot of mixed advice about whether to butt the lining paper together or leave a gap and then fill ... it seems to be that most of the pros recommend butting together but some people advise that DIYers leave a gap as sometimes the paper can expand and overlap/leave cracks after emulsion painting which is then harder to deal with. ... Given that I am a novice with no experience of this would you still recommend butting together and if so how do I make sure expanding/overlapping etc doesn't happen? I get the impression that leaving a gap then painting and filling after the first coat may be more reliable for a novice but are there any disadvantages to this other than the increased workload (which I can cope with)?

I am using the 1400 grade lining paper from toolstation if that makes a difference

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
If you've not done papering before, you in at the deep end here.

Reason being, once it's painted, it's a major task to re-do any areas you decide you're not happy with.

I think deliberately leaving gaps could cause issues when trying to fill them later on. It may well show through after it's painted.

You certainly don't want overlapping, so a few gaps won't hurt.

Avoid getting paste on the surface of the paper.

Take your time, don't assume the paint will cover every mistake.