Living on an Island

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Well first off I guess we should introduce ourselves as its our first post on these boards. I am Andy and my wife is Liz (waves). I am a Welder/Fabricator/Steel Erector/And all things related to that sort of stuff and Liz is a Senior Sister at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Birmingham. We currently live in a run of the mill semi detached property in Stratford upon Avon and have been looking at moving away to a more remote (quieter) area. We have spent several years talking and half heartedly looking at properties and finally took the plunge last September and put a silly offer in for a place on the Island of North Uist in the Outer Hebrides. And it was accepted :eek:
noRYV9a.jpg

LAmKX1Y.jpg

yp68mY4.jpg

ITc5SHF.jpg

It was built in the mid 1800s and stands in an acre of ground. It was owned by the church but due to some reason or another it has been stood empty the last few years.
Last weekend we were able to collect the keys and spend a few days there. It took several months to finalize everything due to a discrepancy on the plot of land that needed sorting.
We were well aware that it was going to need some work and it was really a visit to get in and have a proper look around. We had obviously already viewed the place but hadn't delved beneath floorboards and behind the walls so to speak. We knew there had been some water damage as some tiles had been damaged during the years it was empty and also in the recent bad winter they had just had. Tiles had been repaired but not before some water had crept in and damaged a couple of the ceilings in the bedrooms.
Also the ground floor was joists built directly on top of the soil below so was expecting some problems there.