1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

loop in connectors inside steel conduit, what is best to use?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by TedBk, 20 Mar 2020.

  1. TedBk

    TedBk

    Joined:
    13 Feb 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Replacing ceiling lights.

    Steel conduit installation with conduit providing being the CPC. Is there a better solution than standard plastic terminal blocks for loop-in wiring, in case the CPC fails?
     
  2. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    8,729
    Thanks Received:
    1,648
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wago connectors.

    How exactly do you envisage the CPC failing, given that it's the steel conduit itself?
     
  3. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd love to get £1 for every poor earth I've known due to rusty or badly made joints.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. TedBk

    TedBk

    Joined:
    13 Feb 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Rust, or something else sub standard in the installation. I had a completely rusted floor section because of water ingress from a balcony door.

    A follow up question I have radials for my power sockets (converted from a ring), mainly using steel conduit with tin covered flex from the 60s, and some modern T&E cable. This resulted in a few sockets that have two flex and one solid cable in a connector. What's the best way to handle this? There currently all shoved in, which doesn't seem ideal. (25mm back box or the imperial equivilent)
     
  5. muffking

    muffking

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2004
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My MO for radials in conduit has always been to run with 4mm singles (6491). I'd be using the existing cables to pull a full set of 3 singles through as the T&E will be massively derated in conduit, plus the flex is not ideal either.
     
  6. TedBk

    TedBk

    Joined:
    13 Feb 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The correct cables are used in there respective places, i.e. conduit singles in steel conduit, T&E with solid cores used elsewhere outside of the steel conduit. Its at the socket where a branch occurs and you have three cables connecting at the socket one with a mix of flex and solid core, connecting onto the socket connector that is not ideal.
     
  7. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    34,256
    Thanks Received:
    1,055
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    20A breaker?
     
  8. muffking

    muffking

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2004
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's where it starts to sound like it's spurred off, which on a suitable breaker should still be fed via t&e if it's in open air.
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,676
    Thanks Received:
    3,436
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Not sure what you are getting at.
     
  11. muffking

    muffking

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2004
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From the description it sounds like the original socket circuit is a singles radial in conduit, but that someone has spurred off one of the sockets using flex. I could have read it wrong, but if that's the case then I'm saying the spurred socket should be in either singles or t&e depending if it's in conduit or not.
     
  12. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,676
    Thanks Received:
    3,436
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Although the termination of T&E and flex in the same terminal might be a problem, there's nothing wrong with flex in the open air or buried.
     
  13. muffking

    muffking

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2004
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just ripped a load out of a house because a DIY'er plastered it into the walls to add sockets in a bedroom. It's not something I would recommend for any fixed installation.
     
  14. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,676
    Thanks Received:
    3,436
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
  15. muffking

    muffking

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2004
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The strands were too thin for a start as this DIY'er had just used normal flex found on extension reels. Personally I prefer to use the cables for their intended purpose, but the main reasons would be the ease of t&e for pulling through & plastering over, plus the (slight) increased mechanical protection it offers. Also it sends alarm bells ringing if I see flex used for fixed installs.
     
  16. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,676
    Thanks Received:
    3,436
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok, but there is nothing in the regulations to say one way or the other.

    Some would say flex is better as the CPC is the same size as the live conductors.
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page