loose roof tiles - help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We have just had high winds over the last couple of weeks and I noticed a loose tile on the front roof. I asked about at work and have come up with a recommended roofer to replace and have a look at the roof while he was up.
I received a message to contact the roofer yesterday regarding the roof and was informed that the roof was in a bit of a mess. Please bear with me on the following as i have no knowledge of the roofing game and am still probably in shock!!!
The roofer has informed me that a lot of the slates are loose and have worked free from the battens and in his experience it would be better to remove all the slates both back and front from the roof and start again with a better slate and thicker/wider batten.They could be ripped off in the next lot of high winds. The roofer has quoted £6000 all in for removal/product and labour which dont seem too bad. The issue is that he says it would be easier for someone to do it this way than rather recover and break the tiles. Dont know off hand exactly how many tiles are loose but he said that this was the best way forward. I have an insurance assessor coming next week to have a look and the roofer says that he would like to be there to talk them through what he has seen. Can we claim through the insurance company or should this have been picked up by the surveyor as we have only been in the house 18 months. I am not knocking the roofer in any way and he has been more than helpful. We must be talking a lot of tiles that are loose and need replacing.
The house and roof are approx 12 years old
The roof is in a cheap version of the Spanish slate used in this country (so i am informed by the roofer)
The roof appears to rattle when there are high winds.
Any advice would be more than helpful - big blow just before Christmas. Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links