1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Max height for electrical fuse box above floor?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Possom, 25 Apr 2020.

  1. Possom

    Possom

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2015
    Messages:
    581
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know in some older houses the main domestic fuse box can be up near the ceiling, and a chair or small step is required to access it.

    If I were to get an electrician to move the main electrical fuse box to another room in a house, when positioned in the new location, is there any requirement that it must be placed a max height from the floor?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    32,160
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    No. Although, as you have realised, it is better if it is easily reachable.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Possom

    Possom

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2015
    Messages:
    581
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you.

    What is the name given to the containment box into which a fuse box and the readings meter are fitted? I wanted to look them up to determine the dimensions to see if one would fit in the location I'm considering.
     
  5. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    63,812
    Thanks Received:
    3,374
    Location:
    Gosport
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    If anybody old or disabled may live in the house, put it in easy reach.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    63,812
    Thanks Received:
    3,374
    Location:
    Gosport
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    A meter cabinet? But the consumer unit does not have to go in the same cupboard.

    GRP cabinets are weatherproof so are used outdoors and come with a simple lock.

    Your meter will already be fixed to the wall on a backboard, so difficult to fit a readymade cabinet round it, but I suppose you could build one.

    Here are some examples
    https://www.expertelectrical.co.uk/...MIvM2I2oiE6QIVmpntCh1rsgGgEAQYCiABEgJSe_D_BwE

    You can also get a Street Cabinet or Kiosk, which is a much stronger enclosure.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    4,746
    Thanks Received:
    431
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think there is Guidance in height
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    63,812
    Thanks Received:
    3,374
    Location:
    Gosport
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    I believe it's the same as a light switch.
     
  10. Luckyphil

    Luckyphil

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Guidances are for new Build only imo , I’ve moved Consumer Units up out of Cellars when Rewiring Properties , as long as the Tails from the service Head / Incomer aren’t over 3m away the local DNO are ok with it , In the House I’m currently refurbing the C/U was over the Back Door which has now been blocked up , so as part of the Rewire I’ve dropped it down to about 4ft off the Floor , it was in now the Utility Room

    phil
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. Possom

    Possom

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2015
    Messages:
    581
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What's DNO?
     
  12. muffking

    muffking

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2004
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The company who run the distribution for your area. They own everything up to the main fuse.
     
  13. john4703

    john4703

    Joined:
    29 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Will they still allow longer tails if there is a switch fuse fitted within the 3 metre limit? I'm sure that used to be the case and here they would allow a switch fuse in the external box. I think their attitude was that anything after the fuse was the consumer's problem.
     
  14. Luckyphil

    Luckyphil

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes , they would , it would be best to check with your Local
    DNO , round here Manchester it’s Electricity North West , unsure where you are

    Phil
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page