MCB tripping for no apparent reason

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am an amateur so would like some guidance if you would be so kind. I have an RCD with 4 MCB’s. One of these MCB’s has started tripping for no reason, It could happen while watching TV, working on the computer or while we are asleep. I found a loose earth on a socket and tightened that, but 6 hours later it tripped again. I went around the house with a Draper 13 amp socket tester and found one double socket initially gave a reading of left light on only: live/neutral reversed. So I checked out the wiring, which was fine but screws needed tightening. However, the RDC and MCB both tripped immediately. Once reset the socket tester gave a different reading, left and middle lights on: No earth! and sometimes flickered on the middle light. Could this be the cause and if it is wired correctly, could it be the socket is faulty.... There is only a single wire feeding this socket so I assume this is a spur?

I remember not too long ago, we had several power cuts in a short period..... total power loss for 30 seconds or so then back on, only to repeat again another couple of times until it went off for ages, so we went to bed. Could this have caused a fault or problem with the MCB? I thought about swapping to MCB’s around to see if it transfered it to the one next door, but it doesn’t look that easy when I had a closer look..... hence turning to some professional advice!

Thanks in advance.

KennyB

Sponsored Links
I assume you have no test equipment, such as continuity and insulation resistance testers.
It would best to have this circuit tested out.
You could check all socket outlets on the circuits for loose connections for a start, this would include the connection back at the CU.
Isolate circuit before doing this and also mains isolate when inspecting at CU.
Have you had any work done in the house that could have damaged cables, do you have visits from mice like creatures?