Multiple Security Lights / Multiple Motion Sensors

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I am a self builder with some electrical knowledge and I am hoping someone can provide me with some guidance on wiring my security lights.:)
In total I have 8 lights and 8 separate motion detectors, however in the example below I have only stated 6 as if someone can help me with this I am sure I can work out the extra 2.

Location of 6 Lights (L), South Light = SL, South West Light = SWL, SEL, NWL, NEL, NL
Location of 6 separate PIR Motion Detectors (MD), SMD, SWMD, SEMD, NWMD, NEMD, NMD
Hope that makes sense. ;)

Ideally I would like the ..
SMD to activate SL, SWL and SEL.
NMD to activate NL, NWL and NEL.
Nice and simple so far however I would also like the...
SEMD to activate the SL, SEL and NEL.
SWMD to activate the SL, SWL and NWL.
And finally the...
NEMD to activate the NL, NEL and SEL.
NWMD to activate the NL, NWL and SWL.

This configuration means that I cannot wire any of the lights together.
On top of this I would also like to be able to manually deactivate or turn on any individual light by the way of a switch.

My initial thoughts are to wire the MD's to a contactor for each light.
Hence the SL contactor would have wires into it from 3 MD's, the SMD, SEMD and the SWMD.
I would then feed the switched live from this contactor via a switch to the light.
This switch would be configured so that the switched live could be allowed to continue to the light or not and would also have it's own permanent live feed that could be used to turn on the light manually. Or this could be completely wrong and / or a much easier solution exists?

Any help would be much appreciated and just to confirm I will have all electrical work signed off by an appropriately qualified electrician.

Thanks.
Mark.

Sponsored Links