My 1st Time

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have 3 doorways to open up and lintel over and i am planning on doing the 1st this weekend. Typically it is the most difficult of the 3. Given i have never done this before i am a little nervous so need some help.

The wall is a solid brick wall. There are 2nr 1800x100x140 lintels going in to form a 1500mm opening. I understand the theory of prop, remove bricks, install lintel with 150mm bearing, remove opening.

My concerns/queries are;

1) How many strong boys should i use? I have heard that as it is a solid brick wall, it will probably self support which is great. I wont be leaving it to chance but knowing if that is the case would help with the nerves. How many and where should i install them

2) Do I lay the lintel on a bed and then pack mortar in the top when the base has gone off or should i mortar the top of the lintel offer it up, wedge in place then fill under the lintel after the top has gone off.

3) What mix should i use for the mortar?

4) I have removed a few bricks at either end. Is it now best to use a grinder along the top and bottom mortar joints and pop the rest out? Are hammer and bolster safe to use or will it effect the bricks above

I plan to remove the red dot bricks and lay the lintel on the blue dot bricks. Is there anything else i should be aware of?
Brick1a_LI (2).jpg
Brick2.jpg
Brick3.jpg

Sponsored Links
1) How many strong boys should i use? I have heard that as it is a solid brick wall, it will probably self support which is great. I wont be leaving it to chance but knowing if that is the case would help with the nerves. How many and where should i install them

2) Do I lay the lintel on a bed and then pack mortar in the top when the base has gone off or should i mortar the top of the lintel offer it up, wedge in place then fill under the lintel after the top has gone off.

3) What mix should i use for the mortar?